you're reading...
City, Fitness, Foodies, General, Hotels, June, Restaurants

SOCIAL SPY** Flavour of Hawaii review

I’m in no doubt that the good people of Sydney are all complete and utter foodies, and how can you not be with such amazing choice? From top rated restaurants of various cuisines, to hidden gems tucked away in your local neighbourhood, Sydney has something for everyone.

So for a pommie girl from London with a passion for food, Sydney’s flavoursome palette of delicious treats is my mecca. I LOVE food. I am having a relationship with food. I think about dinner when I’m eating lunch (“how are you single?!” I hear you cry…)

 

One type of food I was yet to sample however, is Hawaiian. Until tonight that is. I was lucky enough to be invited to the Flavour of Hawaii food festival launch at The Grace (77, York Street, Sydney 2000) to sample a selection of authentic Hawaiian cuisine made by top chefs flown in from the island itself. So off I went after work, salivating my way down York Street until I reached my destination and met my friend, Carly.

 

We were greeted by staff in Hawaiian shirts who presented me with a Lei (Hawaiian garland – check me with the lingo *thank you Google*) and a Blue Hawaii cocktail. Good start. We headed upstairs until I reached the event where we were immediately offered raw tuna on a little spoon and a pork spring roll. I ate three in a row, Carly was more restrained. We were then asked to pose for a photo by a photographer from the Sunday Tele, who quipped that he better get a free holiday out of this. Which reminded me to drop my business card in the prize draw to win a two week break to the beautiful island (I won’t bother with the suspense – I didn’t win).

We then sat down for dinner which looked and smelt incredible. Before we could tuck in, various people from The Grace, Hawaiian Airlines and somewhere else gave a short speech before introducing the two chefs who had flown in especially for the festival. Renowned Hawaiian chef, Alan Tsuchiyama and international pastry chef, David Brown have never been to Sydney and apparently the only thing they have seen so far is the kitchen and lift of The Grace – welcome to Australia!

 

We were then allowed to tuck in to the buffet and it was bloody delish. The beef in particular tasted heavenly. We went up for seconds and then had desert, all the while with our glasses topped up with excellent wine supplied by Grant Burge ( www.grantburgewines.com.au).

 

After ogling the token celeb, Home & Away’s resident bad boy, Dan Ewing, we headed off (*read waddled off*) into the night armed with a little goodie bag full of promotional material on Hawaii and some Hawaiian chocolates yay!

 

Flavour of Hawaii is definitely worth going to if you have a love for food from around the world and want to taste some of the traditional flavours of Hawaii accompanied by Hawaiian music and dancing. Just make sure you have room in your tummy to get your money’s worth and get into the spirit by wearing a Lei!

Flavour of Hawaii Food Festival runs until 30th June at The Grace, Sydney.

www.gracehotel.com.au

Guest post by Emma Wright, co-creator of Sydney Fashion and Beauty 101

About sydneysocial

One twenty-something year old girl who has been living in Australia since Jan 2009.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Echoer – Featured Blogger

Photobucket

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,875 other followers

Sydneysocial101 Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 117,336 hits

PINTEREST – It’s gna be big – Trust me :)

Follow Me on Pinterest

Previous Posts

