you're reading...
Movies

Movie 101** The Counselor

Last week SydneySocial101 attended the screening of The Counselor. I hadn’t heard of this film and kept away from all trailers as to not spoil any of it. I had sen that it had the fantastic cast including: Michael Fassbender, Brad Pitt, Penelope Cruz, Javier Bardem and Cameron Diaz. This cast was enough to get me excited for the film.

The film is based in Mexico and centres around Fassbender.  He is a well known lawyer which I am sure points to the naming of The Counselor. I don’t think through that throughout the whole film that you actually find out his real name – that is unless I completely missed it. His girlfriend doesn’t say his name in the film, who is played by Penelope Cruz and quickly becomes his wife. She is kept in the dark about  what he gets up to and his past.

The Counselor is friends with a drug lord named Reiner, played by Javier Bardem. Javier is the outstanding actor within this film. Every scene he plays to perfection and you totally believe in his character. I read that Bradley Cooper or Jeremy Renner were going to play this part. I am so glad they didn’t as it would have changed the film completely. Reiner’s girlfriend is Cameron DIaz, who straight away looks a nasty piece of work. It was great to see a different side of Diaz.

The Counselor accepts Reiner’s offer to put money in to a large drug deal. As you would expect, the deal starts to spiral out of control as things go from bad to worse.  To literally a horrific ending.

Another great name to this film is Ridley Scott who produced and directed it. But I have to say that I wasn’t crazy how the whole film came together. It seemed like there was a lot of talking and often too much that it started to lose my attention in some areas. I was concerned if I had missed something and then I realised I wasn’t that concerned. Not a good sign. The film just didn’t grip me like I had hoped. Even at the ending there were a few things I felt were unclear.

If you want to see a film with a star studded cast and director, then this is the one for you. But don’t go in there with too many high hopes.

SydneySocial 101 gives ‘The Counselor’ 6/10. The film was reviewed by Syrus Wynne.

About Editor

One British girl who wants to live life to the max and make the most of now! This isn't a dress rehearsal!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Echoer – Featured Blogger

Photobucket

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,875 other followers

Sydneysocial101 Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 116,927 hits

PINTEREST – It’s gna be big – Trust me :)

Follow Me on Pinterest

Previous Posts

